ECA in Eastern Africa

The Sub-Regional Office for Eastern Africa (SRO-EA) is based in Kigali, Rwanda and covers Burundi, Comoros, D.R Congo, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Madagascar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

The SRO-EA serves two Regional Economic Communities (RECs): Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and East African Community (EAC); and Three intergovernmental Organisations (IGOs): The Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries (CEPGL), The International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR) and Indian Ocean Commission (IOC).

Through the delivery of its services, the SRO-EA collects and analyses statistics on various development and economic issues and challenges of the region, turning out to be an Eastern AfricaData Centre. Through research, the office also does macroeconomic policy analysis and generates relevant knowledge for its constituencies, especially member States and RECs. Moreover, the SRO-EA also enhances the capacity of decision makers to understand regional integration issues and become bona fide players in the process.

You need to be a member of African Knowledge for Development to add comments!

The objective of this Community is to create a platform to document, analyse and elucidate the pathways to structural transformation in the fourteen member States served by the Office for Eastern Africa of the UN Economic Commission for Africa.

More specifically, the Community aims to facilitate consultations, peer-learning and advocacy to deepen the impact and penetration of work on structural transformation in Eastern Africa.

The documentation  of practical experiences and innovations on structural transformation will expand the body of knowledge  and relevant guidance instruments could be generated accordingly.


20 Contributors

Twitter Feeds

News Update

Live Support