Welcome to the SRCM for Eastern and Southern Africa knowledge and information sharing platform for RECs/IGOs and UN agencies.

11 Members


The United Nations General Assembly, through its resolutions 57/2, 57/7 and 61/296- enshrined the New Partnership for the Development of Africa (NEPAD) as the action and support framework for the development of the continent,and asked organizations and institutions of the United Nations System (UN System) to support the implementation process of programs related to this initiative, mainly through the elaboration of common projects at the regional level.

Many consultative meetings were held within this mandate, with the participation of the UN System agencies that support African institutions in charge of regional cooperation. In particular, the 2006 meeting (i) highlighted the need to widen this consultation frame to include the AFDB group and the regional economic communities (RECs); Moreover, all the annual meetings of the RCM-Africa held between 2007 and 2013 have recommended the strengthening of common or joint initiatives at the sub-regional level, relating to the mission of the RECs in the development strategy of African States and the continent as a whole.

Subregional Coordination Mechanism Eastern and Southern Africa

The first meeting for the establishment of the subregional coordination mechanism for Eastern and Southern Africa was held in Kigali in 2010. It was organized jointly by the  Eastern and Southern Africa subregional offices, with the participation of the four regional economic communities and a number of intergovernmental organizations, including the Central Corridor Transit Transport Facility Authority; the Northern Corridor–Transit Transport Coordination Agency; the Economic Community of Great Lakes Countries; the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region; the East African Subregional Support Initiative for the Advancement of Women; and the Nile Basin Initiative

The subregional mechanism was launched in November 2011 and a business plan for the period 2013-2017 was adopted at the following meeting in 2012. Five priority areas were identified: regional integration and infrastructure development; climate change and natural resources management; governance; gender and social development; and agriculture and food security. Knowledge management and information-sharing were identified as cross-cutting issues. The business plan covered the five priority areas mentioned above and those of industrial development; tourism development; information and communications technology for development; and science and technology.

The business plan represented a comprehensive tool through which United Nations agencies and other development partners could support the regional economic communities in implementing some programmes and activities. In addition, it was agreed that annual work plans would be derived from the business plan and that the three main outcome areas of the subregional mechanism should be under the responsibility of the following organizations:

  1. Fostering broad-based economic development – East African Community
  2. Natural resource management and food security – Intergovernmental Authority on Development
  3. Institution-building for social cohesion – Southern African Development Community 

You need to be a member of African Knowledge for Development to add comments!

Live Support